What a summer!  Not what I expected, but still fun.  My wife had her gall bladder out.  My back continues to hurt and I’m seeing  surgeon tomorrow.  On the good side, I published a couple of books, one is there to the right, we took the kids on a nice trip to Monterey, CA and we had a nice garden.  It was a lazy summer, mainly because my back hurts (really it’s my leg due to a herniated disk) and my wife’s liver is still healing and hurt.  We didn’t even set up the pool.

I had hoped to be inspired to take the blog in a new direction, but I wasn’t.  I’m not sure what to do.  I’ve sort of run out of retirement advice and I’m still in this finish raising the kids do we can really retire mode.  That doesn’t’ mean I’m not enjoying my retirement.  I suppose it will be like this.  Sometimes health issues and circumstances will slow you down.  Other times you’ll be going full bore.  While taking care of my father in laws estate, my wife and I were fond of saying, “It is what it is.”

After tomorrow, I should have an update on my other blog about my back (click the banner to the right or click here).  I hope to have surgery sooner rather than later and get back out there and doing things.  I don’t mind sitting here writing, but I’d love to get back on the water fishing, out playing with my cameras and generally being active again.  I’m going to have to do some serious thinking on where to take the blog.  If you have any ideas, let me know.

