See how much more pleasant the whole blog reading experience is with pictures? Of course, this picture has nothing to do with the post but whatever!

This post is more housekeeping than anything.  I have been retired for well over a year.  I’ve been blogging about it for over a year and a half.  I’ve said a lot and I’ve changed over that time.  Lately, I feel like some of my posts are just stating things I’ve already written in a different way or from a slightly different point of view.

To avoid having the blog become stale, I want to change my perspective a little.  I want to focus more on the actual retirement lifestyle rather than the planning and transition into that lifestyle.  I am past that phase for the most part and I’ve really said the majority of what I have to say on that anyway.  I will likely continue to post about the planning and transition, but less and less often.  It can be good to restate things in a different way, but only to a point.

Of course, those past posts that so many new readers are drawn to are still there and will be as long as WordPress will have me.  I get way to many searches and views on those subjects to take them down.  Obviously, many, many folks have concerns about their upcoming retirement beyond the financial ones.  I don’t blame them, in some ways the financial side of things is the easiest to deal with.

This is a picture of my Jeep. Again it has nothing to do with the post, but it is something that I've changed since I retired. I promise, in the future the pictures will have more to do with the actual post.

So, what will the new posts look like?  I’m still working on the specifics.  I do know they will more lifestyle related than financial and that they will focus on those things that concern folks that are already retired.  Honestly, it’s as easy for a retiree to get into a rut as it is anyone else.  I mean, if sex can get old and we have to spice things up over time, anything can get old!

I’m kind of there myself.  I’ve transitioned and settled in.  I dealt with a death in the family last winter.  I’m a veteran, so to speak.  I’m no longer satisfied just sitting around relishing the idea of not having to go to work.  I want to do and try new things, and ss I move on to different things, so will the blog.  As I discover new things about myself and as my retirement transforms, I will post about those experiences.

I will offer advice and insight, as always, gained from my experience.  I’ve never claimed to be an expert, but it’s always nice to hear from others and learn from their experiences/mistakes.  I also want to dress the blog up a little.  Post more pictures, discuss issues and events that relate to retirement, post some fun stuff now and then, focus on interesting activities and travel opportunities, whatever.

In any case, that’s where I’m going and I hope you follow along.  I think it will be worth following.  Honestly, its free so why not?  Anyway, thanks for following me this far and thanks in advance for continuing to do so.

