I wonder how many folks read this blog and think, I must be some kind of retirement lifestyle expert, or alternatively, a know-it-all blow-hard.  I push a lot of ideas on this site about how to be retired.  Frugality, finding a passion, living without fear, etc.  I’ll be honest, I try to live my life that way and fail miserably about half the time.

I’m not an expert.  I mean, I feel like I was born to retire, but I wasn’t born knowing how to retire.  I’m muddling through life like the rest of humanity.  For instance, I preach about frugality and living a simple life being the way to having a happy retirement.  I really believe that, no matter how much money you have.

Doing it on the other hand, I’m not so good at.  I try, but old habit s are hard to break.  It’s not a lifestyle yet, for me.  I have to work at it.  I still want to buy stuff I don’t need.  I seem to clutter up my life almost as fast as I declutter it sometimes.  It’s tough to change your lifestyle.

So, you might ask yourself, “Why should I listen to you, then?”  Good question. I mean, just because I registered a free blog and started spewing out retirement advice, doesn’t mean it’s good advice.  I guess I leave that judgement up to you.  I’m not selling anything, just musing on the world the way I have come to see it.  This stuff my not be right for you, but I do know it’s worked for a lot of other folks.

Honestly, I’m just a retired guy discovering a new way to live who happens to have the desire to write about it.  I’m not a retirement guru, but that doesn’t mean what I write about isn’t worthwhile.  I believe in the stuff I post on this blog and  I think it’s stuff a lot of folks need to hear.  In fact, writing about it is a way to remind myself and exercise my owns demons.  These philosophies have made my life better.  I’m hoping my writing about them helps someone else make theirs better too.

