This blog was mentioned on an apparently much more popular blog last week called “Retirement:  A Full-time Job”.  I was cited again this week.  I noticed because my hits went from the low single digits to almost 200 per day.  Wow!  Thanks!  I am glad someone is reading this.  Too many people are caught up in the day-to-day grind to really plan their retirement beyond the financial or just don’t know when it’s time to pull the trigger.  Hopefully, some of the readers will continue reading this blog.

The Upper Sacramento River north of Dunsmuir.

I just got back from a fishing trip to Dunsmuir, California.  I had a great time.  You can read about it here and here at my other blog, Fly Fish Nevada.  The one thing that stuck out retirement-wise was the lack of feeling hurried.  I didn’t feel the need to cram as much as possible in because I knew I could come back anytime.  In fact, I thought about bringing the wife next time.  I also didn’t get the dreads when it was almost over.  When I was working, the last days of a vacation were full of dreading the impending return to work.  This time, I was glad it was over.  Not that I didn’t enjoy it, but I wasn’t dreading going back to my real life.  In fact, I was looking forward to it.

And that is the key.  It is my life now.  Not my bosses, not my clients, mine!  I enjoy everyday.  I do what I want, when I want.  I actually feel reinvigorated by the trip.  I have some new drive to get to some personal projects I wanted to work on.  The trip wasn’t a vacation, it was part of the journey.  Just a part of my new life.

One final note.  I listen to a lot of talk radio.  As I was driving here and there on my trip I heard both Rush Limbaugh and Glenn Beck talk about continuing to work into your later years.  Beck stated that the country needs us retirees.  The country needs our wisdom, our work ethic, etc.  Limbaugh talked about continuing to work and strive and to not give it all up and just retire.  Well, I like both gentlemen, but don’t agree with everything they say, including this.

The idea that somehow retirement robs the nation of our wisdom and knowledge is crazy.  Many retirees volunteer, write books or even blog.  We don’t have to have a job in a corner office and all the stress that generates to contribute.  We contribute in our own ways and on our own schedule because we earned that right.

Limbaugh, on the other hand, played right into that old stereotype that retirees go off to a home and play canasta until we die.  Well, for most of us that is not the case.  We live vibrant, exciting lives.  We haven’t given up, we are just getting started.  Now maybe Limbaugh and Beck weren’t talking about real retirees.  Those of us that worked hard, paid our dues and are enjoying the fruits of our labor, but it sure didn’t sound that way.

Besides, what better way to get this country back on the right track than to have a bunch of folks retiring, which opens up a job for someone somewhere, and living off of our saving, thereby pumping more money into the economy.  We are doing the country a service.  If you need our wisdom, just ask.  I haven’t met a retired person that isn’t willing to tell you how they used to do it back in the day yet;)

