That is a question asked in a retirement forum recently.  Here is my response:

“I don’t mean to be dismissive, but how can anyone be bored in retirement? Those reasons everyone gives are really just excuses. Don’t have much money? You could spend a lifetime exploring the area within an hour of your house. Physically limited? Exercise your mind, take a class, read, research, write, draw, paint, etc. If your physical limitation is self induced (obesity, out of shape, etc.) make a point to change that. Too old? Bah! Your only as old as you act. There is always something to do even if you are advanced in age.I am not retired until July, but already I have so many things planned to do, I know I won’t get to them all. I have 4 books in my head and I am already doing research. I have a Jeep in my garage that is in the middle of a total restoration. I took up playing the guitar. I am growing a garden and I plan to bottle my own hot sauce and spaghetti sauce (for my own use). I love fly fishing and plan to do it a lot. I love golf and will play often (9 holes, walking less than $20). I am going to brew my own beer that I have never had the time and energy to do while working. I am going to travel. I have three blogs I write. I could go on and on and on.

Maybe the first thing a person who feels bored in retirement should do to banish the boredom is start pondering how to not be bored. Plenty of books to help out. If nothing else, get off the couch, go outside and take a nature walk. Watch the birds. Take pictures. Oops, you’re a hiker, bird watcher and photographer. Go to a museum. Now your an art lover or historian. When something peaks your interest, pusue it, learn about it, become an expert. It’s like work, but you love it for it’s own sake.”

I understand why people can get bored.  They get sucked into their work life and in order to get ahead, or nowadays not get laid off, they do whatever needs to be done and forget their personal lives.  Essentially they lose themselves, becoming something else.  Before you retire, you need to rediscover yourself, figure out what it is that makes you happy, what your passions are.  Retirement is your time, but if you don’t prepare, you could end up like the retiree above.  Bored, depressed and unhappy.

