OK, my first real post.  It better be good.  Well, it’s free so even if it sucks, its all you’re going to get.  Enough irreverent humor.  I spent years planning for my eventual retirement.   I’d love to say the time flew by, but I’d be lying.  Of course, the weekends and vacations did.   I figured that when I got here, less than three months to go, I would be giddy.  I am not. Don’t get me wrong,  I am excited I am also feeling a lot of anxiety.  It is becoming less a ride into the sunset and more a grind to the finish line.

I thought something must be wrong with me, but while surfing around retirement forums I found that feeling this way was pretty normal.  It makes sense too.  I was nervous and anxious when I built a new house, got married, graduated high school and got a promotion.  Positive events in your life generate stress and anxiety too.  I have also learned that my ability to deal with the stress and anxiety have diminished with age.  I don’t know why, but it has.  Probably because getting old sucks!

I have also learned that the bad stuff goes away when you finally retire.  It may take a few days, weeks or even months, but it goes away along with a lot of other things.  I read many posts by folks that have retired and it sounds great.  No more Sunday night horrors, no more feeling like you wasted a weekend because you sat around and did nothing, no more feeling drained and tired at the end of the day and much, much more.  I was surprised how many people slept a bunch after the retired.  I wasn’t surprised at how many of them wondered how they fit all the stuff they wanted to do into the day when they were working.   I suspect they didn’t, which is what makes retirement so great.

You finally get to do what you want to do.  Not your boss, your customers, your clients.  You!  That is a magical thing.  Living life on your terms, at your pace.  If you choose to work, you do it because you want to, not because you have to.  And that is the key. Being financially independent.  Again, that is on your terms and part of the whole equation.  That is the kind of stuff I want to write about.  How this all fits together to make retirement work and how each of us will find our own path to retirement and beyond (or won’t as the case may be).

I figured now was a good time to start the blog.  This is about being retired, but getting there takes planning and its a major life change.  I hope to chronicle my last few months before retirement and then my retirement as it unfolds.  Hopefully, my experience will lead to more informative blogs about planning for your retirement life (the part retirement planners fail to address) and just plain being retired.

Thanks for reading!

