I was finally able to speak with my surgeon last week.  It was very productive and I got some bad news and some good news.  I’m not having surgery in the near future.  That’s part of the good news, but the bad news first.  I wanted to take care of the herniated disk and try some non-surgical methods to attack my slipped vertebrae.  Unfortunately, the surgeon showed me that I have bones spurs that are also pinching the L5 nerve and he’s afraid removing those will destabilize my back requiring the fusion.  Wonderful.

The good news is those bone spurs are helping to hold my back stable and preventing further slippage.  I don’t have to worry about the problem getting worse.  The surgeon also agrees that physical therapy is likely a good approach and might even further stabilize or even reverse the slippage.  That’s good to hear.  So, this week I’m beginning water therapy.  Not totally sure what that is, but is obviously involves water and therapy.  I’m also continuing my exercise regimen, losing weight and taking further steps to either avoid the pain or help improve it.

Until last week, I was coming at this from the standpoint that surgery was the answer.  A simple removal of part of my herniated disk is relatively straight forward and I’d done all I could do otherwise to fix it.  But now, that surgery has become much more complicated and I don’t want it.  That has changed my attitude.  Now I am determined to do everything I can to avoid or at least postpone surgery for as along as I can.  That means changing the way I sleep, sit, eat, you name it.

I suppose now this blog will change with me.  Instead of documenting my surgery and recovery, it will document my efforts to avoid those.  I’ve got a lot of ideas and theories.  I honestly already feel better and part of that is surely my attitude.  I walked two miles today.  No stopping to squat down and relieve the pain and when I got home, it hurt but it was manageable.  I’m hoping with the help of the therapist, I can find other ways to improve.  I’ll talk about some of my ideas next time.  Hopefully all this will help someone decided for themselves and maybe help them avoid a serious surgery.

